Heisenberg-Professorship for Strong-Field Nanophysics

Our Research Mission

How do light and matter interact? Finding the answer to this question by means of a firm microscopic understanding of the relevant physics is the central goal of our research. The Heisenberg-Professorship "Strong-Field Nanophysics" focuses on ultrafast and highly nonlinear light-induced processes in finite systems. Our main research topics are:

  • Strong-Field Physics of Finite Many-Particle-Systems
  • Attosecond Nanophotonics
  • Ultrafast X-ray Imaging​​​​​​​

Both intense light fields with precisely adjustable field waveform and ultrashort, intense X-ray pulses open up unprecedented avenues for controlling and imaging complex light-induced processes. We strive to understand how the waveform of light pulses can be used to control collective electronic dynamics on the time scale of a single optical cycle, when correlation effects influence the dynamics of matter, and in which case quantum and classical dynamics dominate. In this context, we are particularly interested in how the propagation of electromagnetic fields influences these processes. Our work is driven by the goal to decipher the leading response processes as a function of laser frequency from the infrared to the X-ray range and to pave the way towards attosecond and nanometer-resolved single-shot imaging with X-ray light. To meet these challenges, we are developing many-body simulation techniques in order to “zoom into” the strong field nanophysics of nanoparticles, nanoplasmas and nanostructured solids.

With kind regards,
Prof. Thomas Fennel


News

2021
Prof. Thomas Fennel

23.09.2021

Prof. Fennel takes over lead of the DPGs atomic physics division

The new chairman of the atomic physics division within section SAMOP of the German Physical Society (Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft, DPG) was elected in the general assembly on 23.09.2021. Prof. Thomas Fennel, previously assistant chairman, takes over the lead from Prof. Gerhard Paulus (Jena). New assistant is Prof. Matthias Wollenhaupt (Universität Oldenburg).

02.08.2021

Onset of charge interaction in strong-field photoemission from nanometric needle tips

Study on the onset of charge interaction in strong-field photoemission from nanometric needle tips published in Nanophotonics.


31.05.2021

We thank Cathleen Lawrenz from the bottom of our hearts

Cathleen Lawrenz has accompanied the Starkfeld nanophysicists as team assistant since April 1, 2020 with energy, creativity and heart and has set important impulses in the administration of the group and the organization of research and teaching. We would have liked to keep you with us, but we understand your decision to go your own professional way now. We wish you success, courage and a lot of strength to help people who need you!

With kind regards from the bottom of our hearts,
Your SNP Team.

 

 


28.04.2021

Benjamin Liewehr received teaching award

Benjamin Liewehr was honored with a teaching award of the faculty of mathematics and natural sciences for the winter semester 2020/2021.  

The prize rewards excellent performance in teaching and is presented by the Dean of the MNF Prof. Dr. Klaus Neymeyr and the Dean of Studies Prof. Dr. Wolfram Seidel.

Congratulations!

 


03.02.2021

Book chapter published

Our paper "Fundamentals and Mechanisms of Vacuum Photoionization" by Passig, Zimmermann and Fennel has now been published as a book chapter in the new Wiley book "Photoionization and Photo-Induced Processes in Mass Spectrometry: Fundamentals and Applications" by Zimmermann and Hanley (editors).


2020

11.11.2020

Jonas Apportin starts his promotional activities

Jonas Apportin successfully defended his master thesis on the topic "Propagation of ultrashort, highly focused laser pulses in nonlinear media using the FDTD method" and started now his doctoral work within the AG.

Congratulations and much success!


23.10.2020

Article on ultrafast metallization of glas nanospheres published

How fast can a transparent solid be transformed into a metal through illumination with intense light? In a current collaboration of the SNP team and an international group of scientists, this question has now been answered for glas nanospheres. The study, which has just been published in ACS Photonics, describes the experimental observation of this process along with the theoretical analysis of the underlying physics. 


15.10.2020

Elisabeth Anne Herzig successfully completed her bachelor's thesis

Elisabeth Anne Herzig has successfully completed her bachelor's thesis with the title "Modelling and analysis of the effect of electron scattering in the attosecond streaking on solids". With this work she has addressed a highly topical research subject of the group already in her bachelor project, which she completed with grade 1.0.

Congratulations!


30.09.2020

Paul Tümmler has started his doctoral studies

With the colloquium held on 30.09.2020 Paul Tümmler has successfully completed his master's project with the title "Approximate description of single shot X-ray scattering from free nanoparticles including multiple scattering". On 1.10.2020 he has started the work on his doctoral thesis within the EU-financed project NEISS in the framework of a cooperation of the institutes chemistry and physics.

Congratulations!


29.06.2020

XFEL Annual Report with preliminary results from the SQS Instrument now available

The XFEL Annual Report 2019 with preliminary results of scattering experiments on superfluid helium droplets has been published. The studies were carried out at the SQS instrument of XFEL with participation of the group Strong-Field Nanophysics.

link to original publication (see page 20)


24.04.2020

Quantum coherent diffractive imaging

Study on diffractive imaging of quatum coherent electron dynamics published in J. Phys. Photonics.


01.04.2020

Cathleen Lawrenz joins the team

We cordially welcome team assistant Cathleen Lawrenz as a new SNP group member!  


27.02.2020

2nd phase of Heisenberg-Professorship approved

The German Science Foundation (DFG - Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft) has approved the second funding period of the Heisenberg-Professorship "Strong-Field Nanophysics" for the group of Prof. Thomas Fennel.


23.01.2020

Inaugural lecture by Prof. Thomas Fennel on February 6th 2020 at 5.00 p.m.

MNF invites you to attend the inaugural lecture by Prof. Thomas Fennel on February 6th 2020 at 5 pm.

Topic of this lecture: "Nonlinear electron dynamics in optical near-fields - perspectives for light-driven switches, high-precision material modification and single-shot holographic imaging in the nanoworld"

link to publication



2019

22.11.2019

B.Sc. Richard Altenkirch: Coherent X-ray Holography on isolated Nanoparticles

Richard Altenkirch, the year's best bachelor student, presents the results of his thesis during the certificate awarding ceremony in the Aula of the University of Rostock.

Congrats!

link to detailed notification


04.07.2019

Honorary Doctorate for Professor Corkum

Professor Paul B. Corkum of the University of Ottawa received an honorary doctorate from the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences of the University of Rostock on 4 July 2019. His groundbreaking works on the light-matter interaction on the attosecond time scale established attosecond physics as a new field of research and have decisively shaped it. 

 

 

16.01.2019

Acceptance of the Heisenberg professorship

Professor Thomas Fennel has accepted the call for a Heisenberg professorship in "Strong-Field Nanophysics". He conducts research at the Institute of Physics at the University of Rostock in the field of ultrafast light-matter interactions. Within the scope of the professorship, supported by the German Research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, DFG), Thomas Fennel and his team are particularly concerned with clarification and demonstrating the effect of extremely short laser pulses of nanostructures.

link to publication

Heisenberg-Professur Starkfeld-Nanophysik

Mission unserer Forschung

Wie wirkt Licht, wenn es auf Materie trifft? Ziel unserer Forschung ist es, durch ein detailliertes mikroskopisches Verständnis der relevanten Vorgänge die Antwort auf diese Frage zu finden. Die Heisenberg-Professur „Starkfeld-Nanophysik“ ist dabei auf ultraschnelle und hochgradig nichtlineare lichtinduzierte Prozesse in endlichen Systemen fokussiert. Unsere Forschungsschwerpunkte sind:

  • Endliche Vielteilchensysteme in starken Feldern
  • Attosekunden Nanophotonik
  • Ultraschnelle diffraktive Bildgebung

Sowohl intensive Lichtfelder mit genau einstellbarem Feldverlauf als auch ultrakurze, intensive Röntgenpulse eröffnen heute ungeahnte Möglichkeiten zur Steuerung und Abbildung von komplexen lichtinduzierten Prozessen. Wir wollen verstehen, wie die Wellenform von Lichtpulsen zur Steuerung kollektiver elektronischer Dynamik auf der Zeitskala einer einzigen optischen Schwingung genutzt werden kann, wann Korrelationseffekte die Materiedynamik beeinflussen und in welchem Fall klassische Dynamik oder Quanteneffekte dominieren. In diesem Kontext interessiert uns vor allem, wie die Ausbreitung elektromagnetischer Felder diese Prozesse beeinflusst. Das Ziel, die führenden Antwortprozesse als Funktion der Laserfrequenz vom Infraroten bis hin zum Röntgenbereich zu entschlüsseln und Wege zur Einzelschuss-Bildgebung mit Röntgenlicht zu finden, die Auflösungen im Attosekunden- und Nanometerbereich ermöglicht, treibt unsere Arbeit an. Um diesen Herausforderungen zu begegnen, entwickeln wir Vielteilchen-Simulationsmodelle und nehmen die Starkfeld-Nanophysik von Nanopartikeln, Nanoplasmen und nanostrukturierten Festkörpern damit "unter die Lupe".

Mit besten Grüßen,
Prof. Dr. Thomas Fennel und das gesamte SNP Team


Aktuelles

2021

02.08.2021

Auswirkung von Ladungswechselwirkung auf die Starkfeld-Photoemission von Nanospitzen

Studie zum Einsetzen von Ladungswechselwirkungs-Effekten bei der Starkfeld-Photoemission von metallischen Nanospitzen bei Nanophotonics veröffentlicht.


31.05.2021

Vielen Dank von Herzen an Cathleen Lawrenz

Cathleen Lawrenz hat die Starkfeld-NanophysikerInnen als Teamassistentin seit 1. April 2020 mit Energie, Kreativität und Herz durch die schwere See der Pandemiezeit begleitet und wichtige Impulse bei der Administration der Gruppe und bei der Organisation von Forschung und Lehre gesetzt. So gern hätten wir Dich bei uns behalten, verstehen aber Deine Entscheidung, nun Deinen eigenen beruflichen Weg zu gehen. Wir wünschen Dir dafür Erfolg, Mut und ganz sehr viel Kraft, um Menschen beizustehen, die Dich brauchen!

Mit lieben Grüßen von Herzen,
Dein SNP Team.


28.04.2021

Benjamin Liewehr erhält Lehrpreis

Der Lehrpreis der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät für das Wintersemester 2020/2021 wurde an Benjamin Liewehr verliehen. Der Preis prämiert sehr gute Leistungen in der Lehre und wird vom Dekan der MNF Prof. Dr. Klaus Neymeyr sowie Studiendekan Prof. Dr. Wolfram Seidel überreicht.

Herzlichen Glückwunsch!


03.02.2021

Buchbeitrag veröffentlicht

Unser Beitrag "Fundamentals and Mechanisms of Vacuum Photoionization" von Passig,  Zimmermann und Fennel ist nun als Buchkapitel im aktuellen Wiley Buch "Photoionization and Photo-Induced Processes in Mass Spectrometry: Fundamentals and Applications" von Zimmermann und Hanley (Editoren) erschienen.

 


2020

11.11.2020

Jonas Apportin beginnt seine Promotionstätigkeit

Jonas Apportin hat erfolgreich seine Masterarbeit zum Thema "Propagation von ultrakurzen, stark fokussierten Laserpulsen in nichtlinearen Medien mithilfe der FDTD Methode" verteidigt und nun seine Promotionstätigkeit in der AG aufgenommen.

Herzlichen Glückwunsch und viel Erfolg!!

 


23.10.2020

Studie zur ultraschnellen Metallisierung von Nanokugeln aus Quarzglas publiziert

Wie schnell kann ein transparenter Festkörper durch Lichteinstrahlung in ein Metall verwandelt werden? In einer aktuellen Kollaboration des SNP-Teams mit einem internationalen Wissenschaftlerkonsortium wurde diese Frage nun für Nanokugeln aus Glas beantwortet. Die Studie, die nun bei ACS Photonics veröffentlicht wurde, beschreibt die experimentelle Beobachtung dieses Vorgangs und liefert die theoretische Erklärung der zu Grunde liegenden Physik. 


15.10.2020

Elisabeth Anne Herzig schließt Bachelorarbeit ab

Frau Herzig hat am 15.10.2020 mit dem Kolloquium ihre Bachelorarbeit zum Thema „Modellierung und Analyse der Einflüsse von Stößen auf das Attosekunden-Streaking an Festkörpern“ erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Bereits in der Bachelorarbeit hat sich Frau Herzig damit einem hochaktuellen Thema mit direktem Bezug zur Forschungsarbeit der AG gewidmet und erhält für ihre Arbeit die Note 1.0.

Herzlichen Glückwunsch!


30.09.2020

Paul Tümmler beginnt seine Promotion

Mit der am 30.09.2020 durchgeführten Verteidigung hat Paul Tümmler seine Masterarbeit zum Thema "Approximate description of single shot X-ray scattering from free nanoparticles including multiple scattering" erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Am 1.10.2020 hat er seine Promotionsarbeit für das Landesexzellenzprojekt NEISS im Rahmen einer Kooperation der Institute Chemie und Physik begonnen.

Viel Erfolg !


29.06.2020

Licht aus dem Inneren des Tunnels

Studie zur Erzeugung Harmonischer niedriger Ordnung durch den Tunnelstrom bei Nature Physics veröffentlicht.


29.06.2020

XFEL Jahresbericht mit vorläufigen Ergebnissen vom SQS Instrument erschienen

Der XFEL Jahresbericht 2019 mit vorläufigen Ergebnissen zu Streuexperimenten an superfluiden Heliumtropfen ist erschienen. Die Studien erfolgten am SQS Instrument des XFEL unter Beteiligung der AG Starkfeld-Nanophysik.

Link zum Bericht (siehe Seite 20)


24.04.2020

Diffraktive Abbildung ultraschneller quantenkohärenter Elektronendynamik

Studie zur Abbildung von quantenkohärenter Elektronendynamik in Heliumtropfen mit Einzelschussbeugung in J. Phys. Photonics veröffentlicht.


01.04.2020

Cathleen Lawrenz nimmt die Arbeit auf

Wir begrüßen Cathleen Lawrenz als Teamassistenz für Forschung und Lehre sehr herzlich im SNP-Team!


27.02.2020

2. Phase der Heisenberg-Professur bewilligt

Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft bewilligt die Förderung der Heisenberg-Professur Starkfeld-Nanophysik von Prof. Thomas Fennel für die 2. Phase. 


23.01.2020

Antrittsvorlesung von Prof. Dr. Thomas Fennel am 6. Februar, 17 Uhr

Die MNF lädt ein zur Antrittsvorlesung von Prof. Thomas Fennel am 6. Februar, 17 Uhr im Großen Hörsaal des Instituts für Chemie, Albert-Einstein-Str. 3a.

Das Thema der Vorlesung " Nichtlineare Elektronendynamik in optischen Nahfeldern – Perspektiven für lichtgetriebene Schalter, hochpräzise Materialmodifikation, und holographische Einzelschuss-Bildgebung in der Nanowelt".

Link zur Ankündigung

 


2019

22.11.2019

B.Sc. Richard Altenkirch: Kohärente Röntgenholographie an freien Nanoteilchen

Richard Altenkirch präsentiert als Jahrgangsbester bei der feierlichen Zeugnisübergabe in der Aula die Ergebnisse seiner Bachelorarbeit im Rahmen eines Vortrages. 

Herzlichen Glückwunsch!

Link zur ausführlichen Meldung


04.07.2019

Ehrendoktorwürde für Professor Paul B. Corkum

Anlässlich des 600-jährigen Jubiläums der Universität Rostock wurde Professor Paul B. Corkum von der University of Ottawa am 4. Juli 2019 mit der Ehrendoktorwürde der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Rostock ausgezeichnet. Seine bahnbrechenden Arbeiten zur Licht-Materie-Wechselwirkung auf der Attosekunden-Zeitskala haben die Attosekundenphysik als neues Forschungsfeld begründet und entscheidend geprägt.

Link zur Veröffentlichung
Pressemitteilung SVZ
Pressemitteilung idw

 


16.01.2019

Annahme der Heisenberg Professur

Professor Thomas Fennel hat den Ruf auf eine Heisenberg-Professur „Starkfeld-Nanophysik“ angenommen. Er forscht am Institut für Physik der Universität Rostock auf dem Gebiet der ultraschnellen Licht-Materie-Wechselwirkungen. Im Rahmen der von der Deutschen-Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) geförderten Professur beschäftigt sich sein Team insbesondere mit der Aufklärung und theoretischen Beschreibung der Wirkung extrem kurzer Laserblitze auf Nanostrukturen. 

Link zur Veröffentlichung